Continuing With My Beyonce Rant From Ages Ago

I have serious issues with the music in the common room of my (new!) 6th form, but, apart from grumbling to my friends, I mostly keep it to myself. I once approached the subject to a girl I barely knew, and she simply looked at me like I was crazy: the song I was criticizing was Beyonce and Jay Z.

I’m not hating on pop music as a whole: I love Bastille and Daughter, for example, and they are clearly pop-y/rock-y. It goes a lot deeper than that.

 

Let’s go on an adventure to YouTube. We’ll start by picking a famous singer: for the sake of this post, Beyonce. Next, pick a song: the first song in the search bar is Drunk In Love (I’ve never heard it, but the title sounds familiar). Let’s click on the Vevo version of the song; how many views does it have?

A. 212,126,327

B. 21,212,632

C. 212,163

 

Answer: A! Beyonce has had 212 MILLION PEOPLE watch her video (or at least it has been watched 212 million times: there are probably people who watch it over and over again, I know I do).

 

If that number doesn’t blow your mind, don’t worry, most people won’t realise what this means. Imagine just 10 people in a room. They all have a family, and jobs, and friends, and hobbies: think about the number of people that they each interact with daily. Now multiply this by 21200000. THAT is how many people Beyonce has affected with her music.

 

She’s just an example: honestly, I don’t hate her at all, and I used to love her just a few year ago and know all the words to If I Were A Boy. I just happened along some better artists is all. But think now, that millions and millions of people have now implanted in their head one person’s way of thinking. And if that doesn’t sound dangerous to you, you probably are one of those people…

 

I know a lot of famous artists didn’t ask for that responsibility. They didn’t want the power to influence that many people. But, unfortunately, they’ve got it whether they like it or not.

Therefore the point of all this is kind of a battle cry! Celebs, own up to your responsibility, take control and realise that you really are influencing far too many people to sing about ‘dope’ and ‘fucking’ and ‘bitches’. And grow up.

Leave a Reply

